Skip to content Skip to navigation

Our Group


Andrea Goldsmith


Electrical Engineering

Andrea Goldsmith is the Stephen Harris professor in the School of Engineering and a professor of Electrical Engineering at Stanford University.  She co‐founded and served as Chief Technical Officer and Board Member of Plume WiFi and of Quantenna Communications (QTNA), and she currently serves on the Board of Directors for Medtronic (MDT) and Crown Castle Inc. (CCI).  Shehas also been affiliated with the technical advisory boards of Quantenna (QTNA), Sequans (SQNS), Interdigital (IDCC) and Cohere. Goldsmith has launched and led several multi‐university research projects including DARPA’s ITMANET program, and she is currently the lead Stanford Principle Investigator in the NSF Center on the Science of Information.  In addition, she has held industry positions at Maxim Technologies, Memorylink Corporation, and AT&T Bell Laboratories.  Goldsmith is a member of the National Academy of Engineering and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, a Fellow of the IEEE and of Stanford, and has received several awards for her work, including the IEEE Eric E. Sumner Technical Field Award, the ACM Athena Lecturer Award, the IEEE ComSoc Edwin H. Armstrong Achievement Award as well as Technical Achievement Awards in Communications Theory and in Wireless Communications, the National Academy of Engineering Gilbreth Lecture Award, the Alfred P. Sloan Fellowship, the WICE Mentoring Award, and the Silicon Valley/San Jose Business Journal’s Women of Influence Award.  She is author of the book "Wireless Communications" and co‐author of the books "MIMO Wireless Communications" and “Principles of Cognitive Radio,” all published by Cambridge University Press, as well as an inventor on 29 patents.  Her research interests are in information theory, communication theory, and signal processing, and their application to wireless communications, interconnected systems, robotics, and neuroscience. She received the B.S., M.S. and Ph.D. degrees in Electrical Engineering from U.C. Berkeley.

Dr. Goldsmith is the founding chair of the IEEE Board of Directors Committee on Diversity, Inclusion, and Professional Ethics as well as the IEEE Technical Activities Committee on Diversity and Inclusion.  She has served on the Board of Governors for both the IEEE Information Theory Society and the IEEE Communications Society, as President of the IEEE Information Theory Society, as the founding EiC of the IEEE Journal on Selected Areas in Information Theory, and as founding chair of the IEEE Information Theory Society Student Committee.  At Stanford she currently serves on Stanford’s Budget Group, Board of Trustees Committee on Finance, and as an elected member of the Faculty Senate.  She previously served as Chair of Stanford’s Faculty Senate and on its Promotions and Appointments Advisory Board, Committee on Research, Planning and Policy Board, Commissions on Graduate and on Undergraduate Education, Faculty Women’s Forum Steering Committee, and Task Force on Women and Leadership.


Curriculum Vitae PDF


Current Members


Administrative Assistant

Dashiell Corbett •


PhD Students


Rajarshi Saha •





Michal Yemini •



Seyyed Ali Hashemi •



Anusha Lalitha •